February 5 – 7, 2019 Kewadin Resort — Sault Ste Marie, Michigan





a conference hosted by...
Center for
Technology & Training

Michigan's





Agenda - Day 1

1	IME	EVENT
	7:00	Registration & Hot Breakfast Buffet
	8:00	Welcome, Introductions, & Pledge of Allegiance Joanna Johnson—Road Commission of Kalamazoo County
1 ▶	8:15	TAMC's New Role with the MIC Joanna Johnson—Road Commission of Kalamazoo County
2▶	9:00	Local Agency Pavement Warranty Program Panel Discussion Dave Pettersch—Gladwin County Road Commission Steve Puuri, PE—County Road Association of Michigan & Michigan Municipal League Lance Malburg, PE—Dickinson County Road Commission Wayne Harrall, PE—Kent County Road Commission
	9:45	Break
3 ▶	10:00	Traffic Counting Equipment, Setup, and Best Practices Frank Benavidez—Michigan Department of Transportation Edward Potter—Michigan Department of Transportation
4 ▶	10:45	Engineering the Perfect Deposition Bill Henn, JD—Henn Lesperance PLC Burt Thompson, PE—Antrim County Road Commission
	11:30	Lunch
5▶	12:30	A Case Study in Public Engineer Liability: "Water You Doing?" Bill Henn, JD—Henn Lesperance PLC
6▶	1:15	Pavement Preservation and Fog Seals— Harrison County, Indiana Kevin Russel, PE—Harrison County Highway Department
	2:00	Break
7 ▶	2:15	Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control Best Practices Mitch Koetje—Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
8 ▶	3:00	MDOT Local Agency Program Update Tracie Leix, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Bruce Kadzban, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Kelly Crannell, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation
	4:00	Recess
	4:30	Social Hour
	5:30	Dinner
9 ▶	6:30	Sub-committee Reports of the Engineering Committee Bob Lindbeck, PE—County Road Association of Michigan
	7:30	Awards Presentation
	8:00	Adjourn

COUNTY ENGINEERS' WORKSHOP (CEW) brings together engineering consultants, engineers, public agencies, and CRA Associate Members to address issues that most concern county roads.

Registration*

Register at ctt.nonprofitsoapbox.com/2019cew.

Per attendee....\$215

Visa and MasterCard are accepted. The registration fee includes access to all technical sessions, materials and handouts, and meals and break refreshments as listed on the agenda; it does not include accommodations. Please notify us in advance if you have special dietary needs.

Cancellation policy: No-shows or cancellations within three business days prior to the conference will be charged the full registration fee. Substitutions will be accepted.

Questions? E-mail ctt@mtu.edu.

*Required for fulfillment of continuing education. The 2019 CEW counts for 15 hours of continuing education for professional engineers. The Center for Technology & Training's continuing education policy is available at ctt.mtu.edu/ContinuingEducation.

Accommodations

Rooms at the Kewadin Resort are available at a reduced per-night rate of \$75 for single or double, and an additional \$10 per person for each additional person in the room (plus tax). To reserve:

Individuals: Call 906-632-0530 or book online and mention "12504".

Groups: Fill out and mail/fax this form.

The deadline for the reduced rate is January 4.



Agenda - Day 2





Tim O'Rourke will start off Day 2 with a presentation on Roscommon County's experience with ultra-thin overlays



In 2018, a catastrophic rain event caused severe damage to Houghton County Roads. Kevin Harju will present on the recovery effort and what can be expected when working with other agencies.

TIME EVENT

7:00 ! Hot Breakfast Buffet

	7:55	Welcome, Introductions, & Pledge of Allegiance
10 ▶	8:00	Roscommon County Ultrathin Overlay Case Studies Tim O'Rourke—Roscommon County Road Commission
11 ▶	8:45	"Best-First": A 20-year Case Study in Aggressive CPM Treatments (or Are You a Chicken?) Bradley Lamberg, PE—Barry County Road Commission
	9:30	Break
12 ▶	9:45	Using Drones on Local Agency Projects Joe Campbell, PE—Federal Highway Administration
13 ▶	10:30	Jackson County DOT Cold-in-place Recycling Program and First Year Review Christopher Bolt, PE—Jackson County Department of Transportation Angela Kline, PE—Jackson County Department of Transportation
	11:15	Lunch
14 ▶	12:15	Cold in Place Panel Discussion Brian Gutowski, PE—Emmet County Road Commission Terry Palmer, PE—Midland County Road Commission Cory Wale, PE—Bay County Road Commission TBD – Jackson County DOT
15 ▶	1:00	Working with Other Agencies: Houghton County Flood
		Recovery Kevin Harju, PE—Houghton County Road Commission
	1:45	
16 ▶	1:45 2:00	Kevin Harju, PE—Houghton County Road Commission
16 ► 17 ►		Kevin Harju, PE—Houghton County Road Commission Break Clare Ave Experimental Project and Chip Seal Experiences
	2:00	Break Clare Ave Experimental Project and Chip Seal Experiences Deepak Gupta, PE—Clare County Road Commission Documenting NEPA Activities on Local Agency Federal aid Projects Tracie Leix, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Mark Harrison, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Lynnette M. Firman, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation - Local Agency Programs
	2:00	Kevin Harju, PE—Houghton County Road Commission Break Clare Ave Experimental Project and Chip Seal Experiences Deepak Gupta, PE—Clare County Road Commission Documenting NEPA Activities on Local Agency Federal aid Projects Tracie Leix, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Mark Harrison, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Lynnette M. Firman, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation - Local Agency Programs Eric Costa—Michigan Department of Transportation—Local Agency Program
	2:00 2:30 3:30	Break Clare Ave Experimental Project and Chip Seal Experiences Deepak Gupta, PE—Clare County Road Commission Documenting NEPA Activities on Local Agency Federal aid Projects Tracie Leix, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Mark Harrison, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation Lynnette M. Firman, PE—Michigan Department of Transportation - Local Agency Programs Eric Costa—Michigan Department of Transportation—Local Agency Program Recess

Agenda - Day 3



TIME **EVENT** 7:00 Adjourn 7:00 Hot Breakfast Buffet 7:55 Welcome, Introductions, & Pledge of Allegiance 8:00 FHWA Update 19 ▶ Kurt Zachary, PE—Federal Highway Administration 8:30 | MDEQ Update 20 ▶ James Watling, PE-Michigan Department of Environmental Quality Water Resources Division 9:00 **NACE Update** 21 ▶ Wayne Schoonover, PE-Grand Traverse County Road Commission 22 ▶ 9:10 **CRA** of Michigan Update Steve Puuri, PE—County Road Association of Michigan & Michigan Municipal League LTAP Update 23 ▶ 9:40 Pete Torola, PE-Center for Technology & Training 9:50 Closing Announcements & Adjourn

CEW is hosted by



CRA Conference Coordinators

Co-chair – Joe Wisniewski, Saginaw Co-chair – Lance Malburg, Dickinson Vice Chair - Brad Dahlstrom, Roscommon

CRA Engineering Committee

Chair - Robert L. Lindbeck, Alger Vice Chair - Craig Atwood, Allegan Daniel R. Armentrout, Clinton Thomas Blust, Oakland Karl F. Hanson, Wexford William Hazelton, St. Clair Angela Kline, Jackson
Brett Laughlin, Ottawa
Lance Malburg, Dickinson
Tim O'Rourke, Roscommon
Brent Shank, Cheboygan
Matthew Hannahs, Eaton

If you are interested in becoming a CRA Associate Member, visit the Michigan CRA website at micountyroads.org/Doing-Business

